Week One: Finding A Healthy Balance

Feeling much better mentally when it comes to where I’m heading with my health. As it usually goes, my first week wasn’t perfect, but it finally didn’t get me down for once!

For workouts I did the following:

Monday : Volleyball
Tuesday: 20 minutes of intervals on the elliptical
Wednesday: Shoulders and 15 minutes of walk/run intervals on the treadmill
Thursday: 30 minutes of steady state cardio on the elliptical
Friday: Rest
Saturday: Unintentional rest day. I had to work a shift at the Y and then already had plans after
Sunday: cleans, overhead squats and core with my friend Kate in her garage

This is my workout space at the apartment. There is another room with more cardio equipment and some step up equipment. I also have some of my own stuff, like body bars and med balls.

Diet:

This was where I struggled the most. I’m trying to cut back on my processed sugar intake, so it’s going to take a few weeks until I get the cravings out of the way.

I had a pretty stressful Monday and the roomie was AMAZING and brought me home cookie dough ice cream, so that was my dinner that night. We had free ice cream at work one day, and on that occasion I exercised my will power a little. They were handing out single scoop dishes and I only took one even though we were allowed to come back for more since there were multiple flavors. Friday night I went with my roommate to Lucky Dog bar and had a cider. I’m not a huge drinker, so one was good enough for me. Saturday was pretty good. I went to the movies, but got dinner beforehand at Dean and DeLuca. I had a salad for dinner and then a coffee cake for dessert. Sunday I had a yummy Boston Creme donut from Harris Teeter before working out. Their’s are my favorite down here since we don’t have Tim Horton’s! That afternoon I went shopping with my friend Allie and we stopped into Moe’s for dinner. Other than those occasions I stuck to my meal plan.

My favorite meal this week was this recipe from Le Creme De La Crumb. She always has the best one pan recipes! I put it on top of some zoodles instead of pasta and it was amazing. So much flavor. I also added diced Italian tomatoes to it, so if you don’t like sundried tomatoes it will probably still taste great without them!

I am up 4lbs as of this morning, but I also wasn’t shocked by that as I usally gain a little before I start losing. Overall I thought it was a good first week and I’m excited to keep going. My big goal for this week is to get in some more structured workouts and to reduce my sugar intake a little more. Hope you all have a good week and I’ll check in again next Monday!

Leave a Reply

